Flipped - Wendelin Van Draanen

Flipped. That's exactly what I've done – flipped over Flipped.
An 8th grade Language Arts teacher at my school told me I would love this book. She was 100% correct. I may be 55 and a half, but that didn't stop me from completely relating to both Bryce and Julianna as they flipped turns telling their tale of the same events.

Sheesh, I even had tears in my eyes and got choked up as the book came to a close. I am a romantic at heart. I teach mostly middle schoolers. And let's face it, emotions related to love and friendship and family are not reserved for just middle schoolers.

This same LA teacher said that her past 8th graders had quite liked the book, which is one reason that all the incoming 7th and 8th graders, and their advisors (of which I am one) are required to read Flipped this summer. I have often had pause to think that young adult fiction is every bit as good as the adult counterparts. Or to put that another way, well written young adult fiction is not just for young adults; it appeals to us older adults, too. Emotions do not disappear as we get older (thankfully!), but presumably we become better able at dealing with them ;-)

I am looking forward to seeing what my new advisees have to say about Flipped, and am wondering if there's a way to talk about the story rather than just asking "So, what do you think?" The kids will be returning from summer vacation, our homeroom and advisory groups will be – for the first time ever – mixed groups of 7th and 8th graders, and I definitely don't want this to wind up being simply a required academic conversation. Hmm, food for thought. Perhaps this conversation could set the tone for our advisory for the year.

Ha, school has ended and here I am thinking about the next group of students. Surely I've flipped!